Journal: E3 is Nigh

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Sadly, I haven’t played many games this week.  I’m still working my way through Assassin’s Creed 2, and I still feel the same way I felt last week about it.  The free-running mechanic is pretty fun, but ultimately still a little broken.  My most frustrating moments come with the assassin’s tombs.  Though gorgeous and well-crafted, the camera angles kept the free-running from being enjoyable.  Also, because the mechanic isn’t perfect, rushing me to complete them only made the issues stand out that much more for me.  I only have one more of them to finish though before I hit the rest of the end game.

I’ve also been playing a little bit of The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition.  I’ve only heard good things about it, and I figured I owe it to myself to play it when it is only $5 on XBLA.  So far, it’s pretty hilarious, and I’m enjoying what I’ve experienced, but I’m really not that far into the game at all.

Finally, I need to talk about my excitement that E3 is just two weeks away.  From what I’m seeing right now, I’m most excited to hear more about Golden Sun DS (a sequel for my favorite series), Bulletstorm, and a couple indie XBLA games, most notably Limbo.

Golden Sun DS is something I’ve been looking for ever since I finished the series back in the day.  I still play the first Golden Sun all the way through at least once a year, and every once in a while, I’ll dabble in Golden Sun 2.  Needless to say, their announcement last year that there was one in development for DS really got me pumped.

Bulletstorm is looking better and better with each passing video and interview.  The concept of giant carnivorous plant-life in a fallen paradise is pretty interesting, but what really catches my eye is the skillshot system they’ve implemented.  You more or less have the ability to play with every enemy the way you want.  People Can Fly have given you a ton of interesting weapons, the ability to kick and slide, and a grapple hook of sorts that allows for a Rube Goldberg type of gameplay.

And last but certainly not the least by any means is Limbo.  I have been dying to play even a demo of this game for about six to eight months now.  The sense of isolation and terror I’m witnessing in the trailers is bar none (just check out the video above).   Other good XBLA games of note are Super Meat Boy, Hydrophobia, and Comic Jumper.

0 Responses to “Journal: E3 is Nigh”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Subscribe to this blog

RSS My Tweets

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.