Journal: Kinect Four

Though I was unable to write last week, I found a little spare time to play some games.  I jumped into a few games of Battlefield Bad Company 2.  I absolutely love the team mentality that is required for that game.  It’s the reason that Call of Duty has become more and more obsolete for me.  That lone-wolf style of game gets old really quick, but playing with your friends (not to mention spawning on them so you’re never out of the loop) seems to have a lot more longevity.  As long as EA and Dice continue to support it, I’ll continue playing.

I also played some more Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition.  I can’t seem to play that game for more than an hour.  It’s a good game and all, but it’s really slow-moving when you don’t know what to do, and that just so happens to be all the time for me.  I’ll finish it eventually.

Outside of my own gaming news, comes news that Project Natal finally has a real name:  Kinect.  Microsoft had a big showcase tonight, and it seems that most of the press came away mildly impressed.  There wasn’t really a showstopping game or tech demo outside of some Star Wars implementation.  In any case, E3 officially begins tomorrow.  Though I have to work all day tomorrow, rest assured that I’ll have some opinions to share for each of the “Big 3’s” press conferences in the coming days.  For now, this is what I’m looking forward to hearing about and a few predictions.

Nintendo

  • Golden Sun DS –  there is no game that I want to hear about more than this.  The first two are my favorite games of all time, so I’m hoping this won’t disappoint.
  • 3DS – I want to know much more about this device.  I want to get a new DS because I lost mine a year ago while traveling, but I want to know if my investment is worth waiting for or splurging.

Microsoft

  • Bulletstorm – This game looks intense and super fun.  I’m really excited to see more of the world they created as well as a few new skillshots.
  • Limbo – This is my most anticipated XBLA title for the year.  The watercolor artstyle, harrowing traps, and lonesome atmosphere have me completely enthralled.  I’m hoping for a date.
  • Ilo Milo – There are very few games more adorable than this one.  The puzzles look incredibly intricate, and reuniting two cute creatures together couldn’t bring more warmth to my heart.
  • Hydrophobia – Your character is afraid of water.  You are investigating an underwater base.  Need I say more?

Sony

  • Killzone 3 – Though I’m not entirely optimistic about this title, I’m interested in seeing what they plan on doing with the series.
  • Little Big Planet 2 – You can create your own games.  You can create your own games.  Expect a lot of news about this one.

Predictions

  • New Zelda Game
  • Mirror’s Edge 2 (not sure how likely this is, but if it exists, it will make an appearance)
  • Beyond Good and Evil 2 (almost definite appearance)
  • Kinect will be a flailing festival
  • Bungie will announce their new IP at Sony’s Conference; will talk up Reach at Microsoft’s
  • Nintendo Heartbeat monitor will monitor the unenthusiastic press
  • Handheld games hit Nintendo’s Virtual Console
0 Responses to “Journal: Kinect Four”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

