Journal: Alan Wake and AC2

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Because it’s been a while since I’ve done a journal article, I’ll give a brief idea of what to expect.  This featurette is a simple way for you to keep up with what I’ve been playing, and for me to give you a little more of my personality as a gamer.  The personality  should help you figure out why I feel the way I do about certain games, and further aid in your understanding of my viewpoints and beliefs in this regard.  That being said, let’s get this run-down started.

I’ve been playing Alan Wake.  As you’re likely aware, I loved it.  As of right now, it is contending with Mass Effect 2 for my favorite game of this year so far.  It may be early, but Alan Wake was absolutely perfect for me.  I beautiful blend of Resident Evil 4 gameplay and a narrative on par with Bioshock, it is a game that shouldn’t be missed.  If you have an Xbox 360, pick it up.  You won’t regret it.

I’ve also been playing Assassin’s Creed 2, which I recently received from Goozex.  I’ve already played through and beat it once, but I was still a little fuzzy on the story, and really wanted to play it again after playing through the first one.  The game is a significant improvement over the first one, and it has some really memorable moments, but the free-running is still quite glitchy.  I find that Ezio will, at the most inopportune times, choose to jump off buildings instead of gracefully sprint across the tops of them.  Because the free-running is still so problematic for me, the frustration of going through all of the assassin’s tombs, a necessity to complete the game, is all the more game-breaking for me.  It’s trying to be Prince of Persia, but the tightness in controls is still not there.  Hopefully they fix this issue for the third game.  Doing so would make AC3 an outstanding title.

Not much has happened by way of news in the industry this week.  The only notable thing left for me to talk about is the Indie Game The Movie.  Blink Works is doing a documentary on the indie game scene, most notably the developers behind indie games, the work they put into it, and how they are supported by the communities they’ve created and their families and friends.   Check out the video above, and head over to Kick Starter to donate some money so Blink Works can get this film out there.  For only $10, you’ll get your name featured in the special thanks of the credits; add an extra $20, and you’ll get a copy of the DVD.

0 Responses to “Journal: Alan Wake and AC2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

